18,144 A COVID Charter, A Better World, Professor Toby Miller, Tuesday 18 May 2021, 5pm (UK time) via Microsoft Teams


A COVID Charter, A Better World

Professor Toby Miller

Tuesday 18 May 2021, 5pm (UK time) via Microsoft Teams

(9am Los Angeles; 12pm New York; 11am Mexico/Colombia)

Please register in advance to receive details for participation and a discount code to purchase the book

To register: email  Richard.Delahaye@uea.ac.uk or go online at

https://store.uea.ac.uk/conferences-and-events/faculty-of-arts-and-humanities/conferencesevents/a-covid-charter-a-better-world-with-professor-toby-miller?_ga=2.219358873.1609746222.1620924901-549459054.1620047361

This event will examine the limit case of the pandemic, an emergency of cosmic proportions that alerts us to the failings of the day, specifically in the elemental field of health. It throws into sharp relief the fault lines of inequality that divide the world both between and within sovereign-states, compelling near-universal fear and suffering and raising a vital question: how should we reconstruct our societies, environments, cultures, and economies in the anticipated wake of the pandemic—a world ‘after’ it? To find an answer, we need to examine the dominant discourse of public policy, and healthcare in particular, then lay out a comprehensive alternative. We need a Covid Charter.

The cases come from two wealthy countries, the US and Britain, that were supposedly well-prepared for such a pandemic but were devastated by it, and two poorer nations, Mexico and Colombia, from the region of the world that has been most affected. 

A COVID Charter, A Better World (Toby Miller, Rutgers University Press, 2021) 

Toby Miller is Stuart Hall Professor of Cultural Studies, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana-Cuajimalpa and Sir Walter Murdoch Distinguished Collaborator, Murdoch University. 

This event is free and all are welcome.

Responder

Por favor, inicia sesión con uno de estos métodos para publicar tu comentario:

Logo de WordPress.com

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de WordPress.com. Salir /  Cambiar )

Google photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google. Salir /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Salir /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Salir /  Cambiar )

Conectando a %s

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios .